Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter: An Atmospheric Historical Mystery With a Courageous Heroine Intent on the Truth

£7.495
FREE Shipping

Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter: An Atmospheric Historical Mystery With a Courageous Heroine Intent on the Truth

Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter: An Atmospheric Historical Mystery With a Courageous Heroine Intent on the Truth

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

This story focuses on Eliza Brightwell,, daughter of Charles, who fled England with his family to join his brother in the Pearling business. Through her bravery she not only finds the answer to her father disappearance, but she also uncovers a lot of secrets and corruption on the Bay. Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter by Aussie author Lizzie Pook is a historical fiction set in Western Australia in 1886. While I know what colonizers do to natives (as an Indian), the pearl diving community was new to me. Ten-year-old Eliza knows little of what awaits them on these shores beyond shining pearls and shells like soup plates – the things her father has promised will make their fortune.

The pace was cracking and Eliza was very much her own woman - strong and fearless and loyal to a fault. In that city, Nico Krispis is an 11-year-old Jewish boy whose blue eyes and blond hair deceive, but whose words do not.About the book: “For readers of The Light Between Oceans and The Island of Sea Women, a feminist adventure story set against the backdrop of the dangerous pearl diving industry in 19th-century Western Australia, about a young English woman who sets off to uncover the truth about the disappearance of her eccentric father. Whispers from the townsfolk suggest mutiny and murder, but headstrong Eliza, convinced there is more to the story, refuses to believe her father is dead, and it falls to her to ask the questions no one else dares consider. The story of Eliza’s journey to find the truth of her father’s disappearance is not the strength of the story. Palmer doesn’t listen but, in any case, the young man soon escapes from the jail and melts back into the unforgiving landscape.

It is alive to the complexity of how things must have been, and its consideration of race, gender and sexuality invigorates the era with a freshness that feels organic. I wish the author had paid more attention to the interior lives of her characters, especially Eliza, whose outline as a daring feminist is promising. When British pearl-boat captain Charles Brightwell goes missing out at sea, rumours of mutiny and murder swell within the bay’s dens and back alleys. Her pen brought this world to life: you can feel the heat, the insects bites, the rain that soaks through your clothes.They arrive intending to pursue her father, Charlie's dream of making his fortune by taking up pearling, but it turns out to be a hard life, the unrelenting scorching sun and the unforgiving environment, with its surprising, often deadly, fauna and flora, and a profession with many diverse rivals, with divers facing life threatening challenges and dangers. Joseph North, whose role as judge in local court proceedings has made the victim, Rebecca Foster, reluctant to make her complaint public.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop